Well, here’s what I decided. After helping set up TTW back in 2009, by the time 2012 began, I came to a point where a lot of things had changed.  For those of you who don’t know Renee and me, we had a baby daughter last summer. That meant that pretty much everything we did took a seismic shift. Attending TTW evening events and meetings immediately became a thing of the past, and all the time I’d spent previously on TTW matters suddenly disappeared.

For a while I’d been questioning the logic of constantly having to travel into Worthing (for me that’s a ten mile round trip to the centre of town) to do transition-related things. Neighbours in Findon were asking why we were doing Transition Town Worthing instead of something more local, and friends in TTW floated the concept of a Transition Findon on more than one occasion.

Six months after our baby was born, I decided to take a big step back and formally leave the TTW steering group. I couldn’t attend meetings and my work on Worthing’s Energy Descent Action Plan seemed to have reached something of a dead end. My priorities had shifted and I had to focus on what was really important to me and my family.

The thing was, I couldn’t detach myself completely from transition. As transition is about building resilience in your local community I thought why not just put a few feelers out exactly there. Findon is different enough from Worthing to give it a go (a village of 2000 people as opposed to a large dispersed town of over 100,000), and the essence of transition is that if you have an idea and some enthusiasm, GO FOR IT!

Where we are now is a Twitter account (@tr_findon), a blog: https://energydescentforbeginners.wordpress.com/and registering as a ‘muller’ with the Transition Network. Email: transitionfindon@gmail.com

Who knows what might come of it. I’m not planning anything at present, and it all depends who comes out of the Findonian woodwork. I still don’t have any time to set up events and run meetings, but there had to be a beginning to it. Bear in mind that TTW took almost a year from the initial discussions to the first event in September 2009, and that was with 6 or 7 very enthusiastic people involved, giving up substantial time to make it happen. So, this one is going to be a relaxed, slow growth (which is perfect for me at present . . . less is more and all that).

What we’d like to focus on eventually (2013 onwards) are things along the lines of community allotment or orchard, street-scale solar energy project, and heart & soul type activities. What we’d like to link in with that’s already going are the fantastic Angmering Community Supported Agriculture, and the Highdown Permaculture Garden. What we don’t want to do is commit to too much, get stressed about meetings, and over-complicate things. Keep it simple. Whoever turns up will be the right people.

So, there it is. A transition village on Worthing’s doorstep.

If not now, then when?

